Competing with the mind junk

My biggest and most important challenge this year is to engage with my kids. And by that I mean give them 100% of my attention when we are spending ‘quality’ time together. I work full time and they are both at full time school (infants) and so we only really get a couple of hours together each week day and I really want to make that time count.

I’m ashamed to say that often when my kids are talking to me I can’t help but be distracted in my mind. There always seems to be something else that I am thinking about when I really want to be concentrating on what they are telling me about their day ahead or their day just gone.

They aren’t even important thoughts but mundane things like what am I going to watch on TV tonight when they’ve gone to bed, what’s on my to do list today,  how long has it been since I checked my phone… The dreaded phone. The smartphone. An amazing invention but an unwanted intruder on modern family life.

If I’m honest most of the time I’m just reading articles, scrolling through instagram or just browsing old photos but the truth is I’m not really listening to what my kids are saying or watching what they’re doing. I should be paying more attention but something else always seems to be more important.

The obsession with my phone needs to stop and I need to clear my mind of it’s distractions and really give my kids the time and attention they deserve. They shouldn’t be competing with my mind junk or my phone, they deserve better. They deserve a mom who is 100% focused on them.

So this year I resolve to really engage with my kids. Listen to them. Put my phone away. And clear my mind of all the nonsense that occupies it daily. It won’t be easy. Old habits die hard. But my kids really need to be heard by me and need to feel that they are not a nuscience (which I’m probably guilty of making them feel like).

I don’t want them growing up having to constantly compete for my attention.  I want them to feel like they are the only people in my whole world when they are with me and what they are telling me is the most important thing in the world to me in that exact moment.

“When we look back, it’s the little things in life that matter. It’s always the little things.”

Leave a Reply

